Sex Offenders Registry

Sex Offender Registry Information 

How are sex offenders classified with the new law?

Sex offenders are classified as follows:

Level 1 - Low risk
Level 2 - Moderate risk
Level 3 - High risk

As of March 20, 2010, there are no registered Level 3 Sex Offenders living or working in Cohasset.
Community notification will be made of a Level 3 Sex offender living or working in Cohasset, look to this web site for information.

** FOR THE MOST CURRENT SEX OFFENDER INFORMATION. PLEASE GO TO:  http://locator.thevision2020.com/ **

What information is available about sex offenders?

Information is available free of charge from the police department or the Massachusetts Sex Offender Registry Board to individuals requesting it. The Massachusetts Sex Offender Registry Board prohibits the Cohasset Police Department or any department from disseminating any information about a sex offender who has not been classified a level 1, 2, or 3. The Massachusetts Sex Offender Registry Board also prohibits the police department from providing information regarding a level 1 sex offender.     

Who can obtain information about sex offenders?

Any person 18 years of age or older may obtain information regarding sex offenders. You must appear in person to the police department and fill out the proper requests forms.   
Your request for information will be processed and then held within the records department for one year. The information is confidential and will not be distributed. 

Warning

Sex offender registry information SHALL NOT be used to commit a crime or to engage in illegal discrimination or harassment of a listed offender. Any person who uses information disclosed pursuant to M.G.L. c. 6 Sec. 178C-178P for such purposes shall be punished by not more than 2 1/2 years in the house of correction or by a fine of not more than $1000.00 or both. (M.G.L. c.6 sec 178N) In addition, any person who uses Registry information to threaten to commit a crime may be punished by a fine of not more than $100.00 or imprisonment in the house of correction for not more than 6 months. (M.G.L. c. 275 Sec. 4)
The Cohasset Police Department and the Massachusetts Sex Offender Registry Board will not tolerate any violations of the above notice.

How to register as an offender

Offenders can pick up a blue registration card at The Cohasset Police Department any time day or night. The form must be completed and mailed back to the Massachusetts Sex Offender Registry Board.  Forms can also be downloaded from the SORB website.

How to register as a classified offender

A classified offender can register at The Cohasset Police Department. The Massachusetts Sex Offender Registry Board requires law enforcement agencies to photograph and fingerprint classified offenders. Photographs and fingerprints are taken Monday thru Friday 8:00 am to 4:00 pm, please call ahead.

For more information click below, or contact Police Officer Patrick Kenney 
781-383-1212

Visit these helpful links
Commonwealth of Massachusetts Sex Offender Registry Board Website 

"8 Rules of Safety for Children" 

Cohasset, Massachusetts